Real Guns

• Thread starter Calibretto
  • 8,857 comments
Make sure to give us a thorough report once you tested your suppressor - I have to admit suppressors is the one thing I have no experience with in the firearms world. They are very hard to get here where I live and I've never considered them for any of my SHTF rifles. :scared:
I think we had this discussion before, but suppressors are effective in muzzle flash suppression, not really silencing 5.56 they say. I've also heard suppressors makes detecting where shots are coming from more difficult? Don't ask me how. 🤷‍♀️

You are still supposed to wear hearing protection with the 5.56 suppressors, but I'm of course going to try a shot or two without my muffs. I hope they don't hurt my ears. lol

Edit:

So I got the 3-prong Surefire suppressor adapter on with that special adapter. I drove out to the woods after work Friday before last, briefly shot steel gong with it & it was great. Without hearing protection, it sounded like how I remembered .22LR rifles sounded like without hearing protection. Still loud, you should still protect your ears, but absolutely doable. It's nothing like when somebody fires a AR-15 before you could put your muffs on making you jump & swear.

00.JPG

This weekend, I was going plinking Sunday with some friends, so Saturday I went to the local gun store to pick up another Surefire flash hider/suppressor adapter, for my AR pistol.... Except none of my tools fit this one either, because flat surface they cut for the wrench's too narrow for any of my wrenches(including AR/Armorer's, crescent, etc.). :rolleyes:

00.jpg

With the 3-prong flash hider from the earlier post, they had that adapter which slides onto the tip, but this one is "closed tine". I just stuck a larger flathead screwdriver in it from the side & spun it. 🤷‍♀️ God Surefire sucks.

IMG_8774.JPG