BoP Races my a$$!

• Thread starter DarkKni9hT
  • 89 comments
K, this is really starting to hack me off. Been a GT fan since the start. Just got PS Plus purely to race online. I'm sorry I did now, as it seems highly fixed. I've been attempting the Daily Race for Group 3 cars, of which I have dozens finely tuned. The Race alters power and weight settings automatically for "Balance of Power" racing. Fair enough. Do my qualifier laps and come in at approx 1:32 to qualify 14th of 16! Check the other drivers and there's cars there qualifying 8 seconds or more faster than me! How is this possible if all cars in the grid are supposedly balanced to even levels? 8 seconds? I'm a good driver! In a Gr.3 car I'm usually good for 7:06 around Nurburgring. No rookie here. I know my tuning, my race lines, my race etiquette, all of it. In a BoP race, against other decent drivers, it should be impossible for a gap that large to occur. Then we get out to the race proper and other drivers, in their "balanced cars" are flying around me like I'm standing still! 25 minutes of racing tight and clean and I can't gain more than two positions, if not lose a couple. There's something fishy here. What gives? Where's the "Balance of Power" if my car is clearly being overpowered?

The Balance of PERFORMANCE used by PD is wonky in a way. If you are used to highly tuned cars you ate basically starting over. The GTS BoP resets the cars to all have nearly identical suspensions and fiddles with weight and power. The idea being they'll produce similar lap times around the BoP tracks, like Interlagos.

You won't have the fine handling suspension you are used to and will have to get used to dealing with whatever vagaries of handling the stock setup throws at you, as well as the stock gearing, so prepare for differences in shifting points and where your car makes speed on the track.