MT vs AT - how much faster?

• Thread starter MSkovmose
  • 65 comments
Denmark
Copenhagen
DaneX_78
How much faster is the cars using MT rather than AT? I'm a noob and only just starting to try and get used to using manual transmission. Not going too well. Always forget to gear down when breaking. :D

Good decision to go with MT, it will start to feel natural very quickly.
No idea exactly how much faster it will make you, but you’ll definitely be faster.

Always find AT changes gears too soon, and doesn’t shift down quite often when it should. MT is the way to go.

I am automatic player with Controller 1.44.8 on Daytona :) It depends of the car, some cars are very good with Automatic like Beetle GT3, but Porsche GT3 is horrible on automatic

Last edited:
traction control slows you down to much for my liking to suggest it to anyone atleast...I Do use it on 1 though if im way out ahead or in longer races towards the end to prevent any type of spinout or loss of control it just always feels like its bogging me down

With automatic shifting you will never be the fastest on Racing Games, but if you dont want to bother with shifting then use Automatic Shift and Traction Control. You must to use TC for auto shifting because you cant gear up to prevent losing traction. In GT7 i use for GT3 cars automatic shift with TC1. With TC1 you will not lose traction in acceleration on slow speed corners.

Last edited:
MT is faster, but needs more skill. If you're completely new to driving games I think it's fine to start on AT to get used to proper racing (driving line, braking points, etc.). You can still be very fast even with AT and MT will not magically make you a better driver. It's better to get the basics down.

I can't use at because it's just doesn't feel right even if it makes me slower in some cases, it's all car dependent of course, some cars are OK with at, in endurance races with pits involved you need to use Mt otherwise you run out of fuel pretty quick